Dr. Andy Shreve,

Director, Center for Biomedical Engineering, Professor, University of New Mexico

Visit Homepage
505 277-4939 (o)
Andy Shreve is a professor at the University of New Mexico and the Director of the Center for Biomedical Engineering. Andy has a PhD in Physical Chemistry from Cornell University. Following postdoctoral training, he worked at LANL for 18 years and served in various scientific and technical leadership positions, most recently within the Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies (CINT), a Department of Energy (DOE) Nanoscience Research Center

His research interests include development and applications of thin-film nanostructured self-assembled materials and biomimetic membrane architectures, self-assembled materials, bio-inspired materials, materials for alternative energy applications, biosensor technology, spectroscopic studies of protein structure and dynamics, applications of spectroscopic techniques to the study of electron and energy transfer processes, theory of electron and energy transfer, experimental and theoretical development of spectroscopies.

Dr. Steven Buelow,

Chief Executive Officer, New Mexico Consortium

505 412-4186 (o)
Dr. Buelow is responsible for the leadership, management, and strategic direction of the organization. Before joining the New Mexico Consortium in 2012 as the Director of Laboratory Research, Dr. Buelow held research and management positions at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). As Leader of the Energy Security Center, he worked with LANL line and program organizations to coordinate the development of LANL’s Energy Security Mission.

Dr. Buelow has degrees in Chemistry and Mathematics from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse and in Physics and Chemical Physics from Harvard University. While at LANL, he initiated and led research projects in a wide range of technical areas including hydrothermal chemistry, high-resolution spectroscopy, and the measurement of ultra-fast dynamical processes. At LANL Dr. Buelow worked with more than seventy students and nearly two-dozen post-doctoral students and was recognized for excellence as a mentor.

Dr. Srinivas Iyer,

Bioscience Division Leader, B-11, Bioenergy & Biome Sciences, Los Alamos National Laboratory

505-500-2590 (o)
Srinivas Iyer is the Division Leader of the Bioscience (B) Division of LANL. B division has a broad research portfolio that spans areas from genome sciences, pathogen biology and algal biology to biophysical chemistry and environmental microbiology. Srinivas obtained his PhD in Biochemistry from the University of Houston, TX and completed postdoctoral training at the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque and at LANL prior to his hire as a staff scientist at LANL.

Dr. Alina Deshpande,

Group Leader, Biosecurity and Public Health, B Division, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Alina Deshpande is the Group Leader of B-10, the Biosecurity and Public Health group in the Biosciences Division at LANL. She has worked on projects including risk analysis for natural or intentional outbreaks of agricultural diseases, evaluation of mixed architecture systems for foreign animal disease surveillance and evaluation of technologies for non-destructive evaluation of chem, bio, and radioactive threat agents. She has also led projects on the development of multiplexed assays for human, animal and plant pathogen detection and characterization as well as human forensics, and currently runs the biological agent testing laboratory (BATL), an 1SO 17025 accredited facility for evaluation of vendor assays for the BioWatch program. Since 2010 Alina has also been a team leader for DTRA funded projects on the evaluation of data streams for integrated global disease surveillance and developing tools for enhancing awareness in disease surveillance.

Alina received her MS (1995) and PhD in Biomedical Sciences (2003) from the University of New Mexico, while working in the Bioscience Division at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). She has a BS in Microbiology from the University of Pune, India.

© 2018 New Mexico Consortium